Search Community

Webflow: Trying to implement horizontal sticky gallery. Please help :)

TobiKopp test
Moderator Tag

Hi guys,

I'm trying to implement a horizontally scrolling gallery on my website in Webflow.

I want it to be sticky until the gallery reaches the end, and then the page to resume regular scrolling.

There are a number of youtube tutorials that I tried, but none worked.

I have to admit, although I have a tiny little bit of experience in simple coding, I am by no means a pro. In fact, quite the opposite.

After having tried to make this work for the last 5 hours, I think I can justify asking you guys :)

Youtube-Turorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LWinkSulwU

The website I'm trying to build: https://tobias-kopp-fotografie.webflow.io/home-new-copy-scrolltrigger2

Would be so awesome if you could help. I bet it's some stupid minor detail that makes it not work at all. I tried to find that error so hard, whithout success ...

Cheers,

Tobi

Hi @TobiKopp welcome to the forum!

Instead of working directly in Webflow it is adviesed to just open up a play ground and start playing with your logic there. Then you don't have to worry about Webflow trowing errors or other stuff being annoying. Codepen is a great place for that!

The best thing to do when working with ScrollTrigger is to remove it! This seems counter intuitive, but ScrollTrigger is just animating something on scroll, so just focus on the animation at first and only when you're happy with the animation add ScrollTrigger back in. This way you can focus on one part at a time and it will save a lot of headache when debugging.