Search Community

GSAP Flip Problem with absolute position and z-index

animationmagic test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by mvaneijgen,

Hi there,

I just tried out Flip and must say, I love it! I've tried to build a webpage with two container and want one of them to fill out the whole main container on animation. The h2s in my build have to have z-index=50 for another animation.

My issue is, that even though I set the zIndex here to 99 it does not take effect.

Flip.fit("#box-two", ".main-container", {
    duration: 0.5,
    ease: "expo.inOut",
    absolute: true,
    zIndex: 99
  });

Here is a demo of what I am trying to do

Any help is greatly appreciated!

See the Pen KKEmQLq by lisaschumann (@lisaschumann) on CodePen

• Solution

I'm no Flip expert,  but a Flip tween is something special and is created to do a specific thing, so it is something else than a normal tween. I'm going to mark the topic, so that if someone else has a better explanation maybe they'll chime in, but you could just use a gsap.set() in one of the callbacks to set the properties zIndex. Hope it helps and happy tweening! 

See the Pen VwRbxYm?editors=0011 by mvaneijgen (@mvaneijgen) on CodePen

• Like 1

Hey @mvaneijgenthanks for coming back to me so quickly!

This works great. Is there a reason using zIndex directly with Flip does nothing but setting it on onStart works?

On other issue I have with the setup you proposed is that I need to set the zIndex back to 1 on animation complete but it cannot find this.targets()[0] in the onComplete.

onStart: function(){
              gsap.set(this.targets()[0], {
                zIndex: 99,
              })
            },
            onComplete: () => {
              gsap.set(this.targets()[0], {
                zIndex: 1,
              })
            }

I found out that if I write the onComplete like this it returns this as the Tween.

console.log(this)
}

while when I write it with this syntax this returns the Vue instance for me