Search Community

Dispose method for SWFLoader

Amnesicat test
Moderator Tag

Hi all

I'm loading and unloading child SWFs from a main SWF using the Main SWF Code below that was suggested in another thread on this forum. Then as suggested in the SWFLoader API documentation I added a dispose method to the Child SWFs to cleanup eventlisteners for garbage collection when unload is called within the Main SWF (See Child SWF Code below).

The trouble is that when I test the memory management of the Main SWF there seems to be a memory leak, as the memory isn't being released and is building up over time. I am pretty new to actionscript and not really sure what else I have to do to avoid memory leaks when loading and unloading with SWFLoader. Is there something else I need to add in the dispose method of the Child SWF?

I'd appreciate any help.

Thank you

Main SWF Code:

import flash.display.*;
import flash.events.*;
import com.greensock.*;
import com.greensock.easing.*;
import com.greensock.plugins.*;
import com.greensock.loading.*;
import com.greensock.events.LoaderEvent;

var page1:SWFLoader = new SWFLoader("page1.swf",{centerRegistration:true,x:512,y:350});
var page2:SWFLoader = new SWFLoader("page2.swf",{centerRegistration:true,x:512,y:350});
var page3:SWFLoader = new SWFLoader("page3.swf",{centerRegistration:true,x:512,y:350});
var currentPage:SWFLoader;

nav_mc.button1.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, clickHandler);
nav_mc.button2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, clickHandler);
nav_mc.button3.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, clickHandler);
nav_mc.button1.mouseChildren = false;
nav_mc.button2.mouseChildren = false;
nav_mc.button3.mouseChildren = false;
nav_mc.buttonMode = true;

function clickHandler(e:MouseEvent):void
{
var next:SWFLoader;
if (e.currentTarget == nav_mc.button1)
{
 next = page1;
}
else if (e.currentTarget == nav_mc.button2)
{
 next = page2;
}
else
{
 next = page3;
}
if (next == currentPage)
{
 return;
}
if (currentPage != null)
{