Search Community

Newbee Question Throwprop

ekessler test
Moderator Tag

I am new to flash and to certainly Greensock.

I am a member of Greensock and downloaded the throwprop plug-in.

I am looking to make a history timeline that has a very long bar that will scroll horizontally only across stage the same way the demo does using the mouse.

I have had no luck trying to get this to work.

I was wondering if a very friendly forum member will be willing to tweek the demo code for me to paste in?

This would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Eliezer

throwPropsX.fla.zipHi ekessler. thanks for your question. to get the demo to work horizontally you to have a really WIDE display object with a narrow Blitmask. in the code you have to make a few adjustments mostly dealing with converting y/height to x/width y to x bounds.top to bounds.left yOffset to xOffset mouseY to mouseX etc. please see this example: http://snorkl.tv/dev/throwPropsX/ here is the code: 

import com.greensock.*;
import com.greensock.easing.*;
import com.greensock.plugins.*;
import flash.geom.Rectangle;
import flash.utils.getTimer;
import flash.events.MouseEvent;
import flash.text.*;
import flash.display.*;
TweenPlugin.activate([ThrowPropsPlugin]);
var bounds:Rectangle = new Rectangle(30,30,400,100);
var blitMask:BlitMask = new BlitMask(mc,bounds.x,bounds.y,bounds.width,bounds.height,true);
var t1:uint,t2:uint,x1:Number,x2:Number,xOverlap:Number,xOffset:Number;
blitMask.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, mouseDownHandler);
function mouseDownHandler(event:MouseEvent):void {
TweenLite.killTweensOf(mc);
x1 = x2 = mc.x;
xOffset = this.mouseX - mc.x;
xOverlap = Math.max(0,mc.width - bounds.width);
t1 = t2 = getTimer();
mc.stage.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_MOVE, mouseMoveHandler);
mc.stage.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP, mouseUpHandler);
}
function mouseMoveHandler(event:MouseEvent):void {
var x:Number = this.mouseX - xOffset;
if (x > bounds.left) {
mc.x = (x + bounds.left) * 0.5;