Search Community

Scale on scroll before scrolling on the page

De Internetarchitect test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by mvaneijgen,

Hi GSAP forum,

I am a noob when it comes to GSAP (have followed a small course) and I want the following.

I have a page with multiple sections.
But in the first section I have a overlaying div with an image.
When entering the page, when user starts scrolling I want that to scale (untill its out of view) and then you continue scrolling normally in the section behind it.

I don't have a clue how to do this.
Can you please help me with this?

I have created a codepen: 

See the Pen WNmZvaV by deinternetarchitect (@deinternetarchitect) on CodePen

Hi @De Internetarchitect welcome to the forum!

What have you tried already? We love the see what you can come up with,  that way we can see your thought process and thus better help you understand the tools!  Just trying some things is the best way to learn in my opinion! If you're new to GSAP check out this awesome getting started guide https://gsap.com/resources/get-started/

I would recommend first focusing on the animation you want to happen and completely forget about ScrollTrigger. In this case it is also a good idea to set the image to the biggest version and then use a gsap.from() tween to scale: 0.1 or some other value (It is easier for the browser to scale to a smaller value then to scale a small picture to a bigger value, just FYI)

Just try to get something off the ground and post back here what you've tried and we would be happy to take a look and point you in the right direction. 

Ben erg benieuwd wat je zelf al voor elkaar krijgt. Je hebt een cursus gevolgd, dus probeer wat je daar hebt gezien in te zetten en waarschijnlijk lukt 50% je al, hoop dat het helpt!

• Like 1

Your right!

I have changed the codepen and added the animation.

Now I want 2 things:

- When its finished the entire div should be removed (display none)