Search Community

backgroundColor in Articulate Storyline

feksioglu test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by GreenSock,

Hello everyone.

This is probably a very simple issue but I can't make it work.

So I'm using Articulate Stroyline 360 (up to date). Although I'm not very good with Js, I've made it work several times before to get what I want using online resources and applying them to my project. 

In this particular issue, I have a rectangular shape. What I want to do is chage its color when mouse hovers ovet it. So all I need to do is use the correct code in "Execute JS when user hovers over" trigger in Storyline. You can see the code I'm using in the attached image. "box3" is obviously the alt text of the rectangle.

The strange thing is I tried many other codes like changing the x and y of the shape, scale, rotation etc. and they all worked but this one isn't working. Can anyone help me with this?

Thank you for your time.

bgcolor-code.PNG

Hi! Thank you for your quick response!

Unfortunately I'm not quite sure what exactly "selector" is but I think you're asking me if the box thats supposed to change color is correctly addressed in the code. 

In Storyline, apparently, we use the alt text to target the objects. And "box3" is the alt text that I gave to my shape. The thing is, like I said, other codes like scale, rotate etc. all work when I add them here. It's just this backgoundColor. Maybe it's something with the Stroyline.

sl-2.PNG

sl-1.PNG

Yeah, that was what I was asking, thanks. Largely because I'd expect alt text to be targeted like this

[alt="example"]

But I guess storyling is adding data attributes. No worries! If you say it's working with other properties I believe you.

The only thing I can think of is that maybe it's an SVG shape and not a div?

Have you tried fill instead of backgroundColor?