Search Community

Help with clipping paths and MorphSVG

MrJL test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Cassie,

Hi everyone. I've put together a pen with an svg path that's animated on scroll. I'd like to develop it so that it's an image with an animated clip-path rather than a flat svg. Is there a simple guide somewhere on how to do this? I looked but all I found were other people's pens and I'm still pretty new to gsap so reading them and understanding them is still out of my reach. But if there's a simple tutorial or guide on how to do this I'd love to read it!

See the Pen zYMLMEW by mrjonoces (@mrjonoces) on CodePen

Hey there!

Before we get into clip paths, there's a few things I picked up on in your code, you may be overcomplicating some things

1) quad.easeInOut isn't valid - I think you're looking for "power4.out"
2) Timelines are for sequences of multiple animations - you only have one animation so this would be best acheived with a tween.

3) You seem to be trying to control the animation using ScrollTriggers callbacks, while also controlling it on update. This is causing conflicts, and more importantly... it's a little bit like trying to reinvent the wheel by making a big wheel made from wheels...
ScrollTrigger already does this all. Here's an example of a scrubbed animation. (like using onUpdate to tie the progress to the scroll value)

See the Pen Jjeeqvo?editors=0010 by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

And if you don't want it scrubbed you can use toggleActions (like calling play and pause on enter/leave callbacks)

See the Pen vYQQovB?editors=0010 by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

Does this help clear things up a little?

• Like 1

• Solution

No worries! The docs are always a good source of info. Sometimes trying to extrapolate out from demos can get a bit confusing. Also if you feel like something's too complicated - it probably is.