Search Community

Basic question

a-ok test
Moderator Tag

I'm new to AS3 and LoaderMax and I don't know how to access the loaded swf.

function loadthisnow(loadswf:String):void {
   var contentloader:LoaderMax = new LoaderMax({name:"contentLoader",onProgress:progressHandler,onComplete:completeHandler,onError:errorHandler});
   contentloader.append(new SWFLoader(loadswf,{name:loadswf,estimatedBytes:1024*1024,container:this.container}));
   contentloader.load();
}

And the loaded swf appears but how do I do stuff to it? I can do stuff to this.container but how do I access the loaded swf? I ask this because when I load other content it just appears in front of the previously loaded content so I want to be able to delete the previously loaded swf or move it or something. There is a blurb in the documentation about empty, dispose or something but it's too short and doesn't have examples.

Thanks.

You can access the raw content of the SWFLoader with its "rawContent" property. Like this:

function loadthisnow(loadswf:String):void {
   var loader:SWFLoader new SWFLoader(loadswf, {estimatedBytes:1024*1024, container:this.container, onComplete:completeHandler});
   loader.load();
}

function completeHandler(event:LoaderEvent):void {
   var mc:MovieClip = event.target.rawContent;
   trace("rawContent: "+mc);
}

Notice that you don't have to put the SWFLoader into a LoaderMax instance if you don't want to - it's totally optional. The only benefit of putting it into a LoaderMax is if you have more than one and want to control or report their progress as a whole.

If you want to dump the SWFLoader and its content, just call dispose(true) on that instance:

loader.dispose(true);

And you can get the loader anytime with LoaderMax.getLoader() - just pass the url or name like this:

var loader:SWFLoader = LoaderMax.getLoader("http://www.greensock.com/swf/child.swf");
loader.dispose(true);

Have you watched the videos at http://www.greensock.com/loadermax-tips/