Search Community

Start the same SplitType animation on different div

3mo test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by GreenSock,

Hello,

I'm new to GSAP, so I apologize in advance if my problem could have been solved simply.
I have an HTML structure that looks like this:

<div class="chapter chapter-1">

<div class="page page-1">
                <div class="sheet">
                    <p class="storyline">Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur adipisicing elit. Adipisci commodi optio fugiat eum porro provident necessitatibus vitae. Quis, doloremque inventore recusandae aperiam dolore adipisci blanditiis est dolorum architecto dicta quasi?</p>
                    <i class="fa-solid fa-circle-left reading-btn previous-chapter"></i>
                    <i class="fa-solid fa-circle-chevron-right reading-btn next-page"></i>
                </div>
            </div>

Of course, there are several chapters (chapter-1, chapter-2, ...) which themselves have several pages (page-1, page-2, ...).

I'd like to run a SplitType animation on my <p class="storyline">  each time it or its parent <div class="sheet"> enters the viewport.

To achieve this, I wrote the following code:

for (let indexPage = 0; indexPage < storyLines.length; indexPage++) {
        const numPage = indexPage + 1;

console.log('Chapter ' + numChapter);
        console.log('Page ' + numPage);
        // I used this console.log only to make sure I had the right chapter and page number

const line = new SplitType(`.chapter-${numChapter} .page-${numPage} .storyline`, { types: 'chars' });

gsap.fromTo(`.chapter-${numChapter} .page-${numPage} .char`,
            { 
                y: 100,
                opacity: 0
            },
            {
                y: 0,
                opacity: 1,
                stagger: 0.1,
                duration: 3,
                delay: 3,
                ease: 'power4.out',
                scrollTrigger: {