Search Community

Help de-glitching hover based animations

MrJL test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Hi everyone. First time poster here. I've been working on a svg composition where hovering over different elements triggers different timelines. I've got it working but it's a little glitchy if you move between items quickly, which is something a lot of people will do, so I'd like to ask the hive mind here if there's anything I can do to smoothen out those glitches and make for a better experience. 

There are 3 elements and each has a timeline where the elements change shape and size that fires when hovering that element. These all work when hovering over them from the default state, but sometimes, especially when moving quickly, only part of the timeline works and one of the elements doesn't change. 

I'm a GSAP beginner, this is my first project using it, so forgive me if I've made some noob errors!

See the Pen KKGgPXg by mrjonoces (@mrjonoces) on CodePen

Hi @MrJL welcome to the forum!

It seems that if I remove the .reverse() animation there are no issues. Because you're animating the new timeline as soon as you hover over the new elements, so if you just tween between them directly without first reversing, everything seems to work as expected. 

I would create another timeline called reset that morphs all shapes back to their original shapes and put an onLeave hover on the whole SVG, so it only resets when you're not over any shape. 

// Pseudo code
onSVGleave.on('mouseout', function(){
    reset.play();
});

And I would  draw three boxes and make those your hover triggers and keep them the same size all the time, so don't animate their size, otherwise what could happen (and I think is happening) the hovered shape changes size and then loses its hover mid way thought the animation. If you make fixed boxes this will not happen. And will feel more consistent. Hope it helps and happy tweening

image.jpeg.2084fd6287e3abbc9deebe82bdd48f06.jpeg