Search Community

fade sections in and out and split image using scrolltrigger

dagda1 test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by GreenSock,

This is my first time using greensock and it is fair to say I have failed at what I want to achieve.

I am very baffled by the second string argument to both `start` and `end`.

e.g. `top top`.  I get what the first top means but not the second.

In the codesandbox, I want the sections to apply and remove opacity as they scroll in and out and I want the 2 divs to split apart when I scroll into the second section but it is not working.

Here is a codesandbox

Hi @dagda1 welcome to the forum! 

It is hard to wrap your head around it at first, but it is fairly simple, your codesanbox doesn't load for me, but I'll try my best to explain how the strings work. 

You can split them op into two sections, the first word has everything to do with your trigger element, eg trigger: "#myElm" and the second one has to to with the viewport (the browser window). I find it best to always use markers: true, in my ScrollTrigger object, because this will visualise the markers and makes it even easier to understand. 

so, "top top" means, when the top of my trigger element ("#myElm") hits the top of the browsers viewport do something until end: "bottom top", translates to: when the bottom of "#myElm" hits the top of the browser window and this will animate something (if scrub is true) for a distance of the height of "#myElm".

here is a simpel example. You can see that the start and end makers are on top and on the bottom of the element and the viewport makers are on top of each other at the top of the viewport

See the Pen GRYWqNe?editors=0010 by mvaneijgen (@mvaneijgen) on CodePen