Search Community

Which license do I need for adding GSAP to a website?

bernhard test
Moderator Tag

Hi everyone :) 

I'm quite sure I'll need help with animations in the near future, but before I can come to that I have a question regarding the available licenses.

I'm a Web Developer and I develop Websites. Partly self-employed and partly in an agency. I know that the core can be used free of charge, but we need the DrawSVG plugin. So what is the license that I/we need?

If I develop a website as single person for a client. As far as I understood I don't need the commercial license as long as the developed website is free to use for everybody. Even if the client paid me for my work. Correct?

What about agency work? We are two developers at the moment. Do we need BusinessGreen for 2 Devs then? What if I'm the only one working on that project? Shocking Green as I'm an individual?

Also I don't understand what "per year" means. I don't think that this means that we have to pay for using GSAP on that single website as long as the website is online, do we?? I guess that means that I/we get access for one year including all updates within that year and the websites can use the created animations as long as they are online without any further membership requirements, correct?

It would be nice to add some simple to understand examples to the licensing pages / faqs. I really did try to understand it and also did quite some research, but I did not find good answers.

Thx for your help!

Hi @bernhard and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

17 hours ago, bernhard said:

If I develop a website as single person for a client. As far as I understood I don't need the commercial license as long as the developed website is free to use for everybody. Even if the client paid me for my work. Correct?

Correct. But if you need the bonus plugin as a self-employed freelancer you will need a Simply Green or Shockingly Green depending on the bonus plugins you want/need.