Search Community

How to fade out text, change, then fade back in?

TheNomadicAspie test
Moderator Tag

I'm completely new to GSAP, and it was suggested to me since I'm struggling to manually animate several parts of my app.

The first thing I'm working on is text transition. Throughout my code I constantly fade out my text, change it, and fade it back in. I found an example script that almost does what I want here, but requires multiple divs.

Can I just fade the text out, change the element.innerText, then fade it back in? I just want to make sure I'm doing things the "correct" way since I have a tendency to meticulously write code poorly only to rewrite it all later.

See the Pen OGgMdG by PointC (@PointC) on CodePen

Welcome to the forums (and GSAP), @TheNomadicAspie

There are actually quite a few ways to do this in a "clean" manner. A few questions:

1. Is your goal to have only one element in the markup and inject the various subsequent text via JS? Or do you like having all the text in the markup (but the alternate states invisible initially)? Some people prefer to have it all in the markup because it's coming from a CMS or maybe they have other editors that always work on that layer instead of the JS.
  2. Is there any particular reason you're using the very old syntax from years ago? I just want to make sure it's okay for you to use the more modern and concise GSAP 3.x syntax. 
  3. Is the first state supposed to be opacity: 1 initially on page load or do you want that to fade in too? 

19 minutes ago, GreenSock said:

Welcome to the forums (and GSAP), @TheNomadicAspie

There are actually quite a few ways to do this in a "clean" manner. A few questions: