Search Community

Scale and transformOrigin broken

RoaldKamman test
Moderator Tag

Hey everyone,

I'm new to creating SVG's and gsap so please keep that in mind. 

I currently have 2 main issues. 

1: even though the scale is set to 1.01 the selected elements scales way WAY larger. 

2: the transform origin doesn't work in google chrome (it works in codepen). In google chrome it looks like it's going further to the left (attached picture). 

I would really appreciate any help. 

Captureresized.jpg

See the Pen rNOzboa by RoaldKamman (@RoaldKamman) on CodePen

Hey RoaldKamman and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

1 hour ago, RoaldKamman said:

1: even though the scale is set to 1.01 the selected elements scales way WAY larger. 

You're incorrect here. Let me explain why: In your SVG, that element has an initial scaleX of .29152 and an initial scaleY of .281. So when you animate to a scale value of 1.01, it actually increases size by ~350% instead of 1% like you are expecting. But it is indeed animating to the correct scale value of 1.01 (you can check yourself using your developer tools).

To fix that, edit your SVG to not use transforms in your vector editor. How to do that depends on which vector editor you're using.

1 hour ago, RoaldKamman said:

2: the transform origin doesn't work in google chrome (it works in codepen). In google chrome it looks like it's going further to the left (attached picture). 

You'll have to show us a demo where it's not working as you expect it to for us to be able to help figure out what's going on there.

• Like 1

Hey Zach, 

Thank you for helping out. 

Do you know how to turn transforms off in Inkscape? That's the program used to create this. I imagine I could also remove the transform html myself but I can also imagine that could break everything. 

I hope this loom video serves as a good demo, otherwise please let me know what kind of demo you need. https://www.loom.com/share/1aff03ff6a994bfe9977b57aebe64269