Search Community

How to have this svg path follow a circle?

DavidPicarazzi test
Moderator Tag

Hello! I am new to GSAP and am wondering what the best method would be to have the blue line follow the circle in my animation. You can checkout the animation here . I also wanted to know if theres a shorthand way to code what I have here:

tl.to("#blob-1.animate", {duration: 0.5x: -113ease: "power1"});
tl.to("#blob-1.animate", {duration: 0.5y: 150ease: "power1"});
tl.to("#blob-1.animate", {duration: 0.5x: 0ease: "power1"});
tl.to("#blob-1.animate", {duration: 0.5x: 65y: 80ease: "power1"});

See the Pen VwYgNRK by DavidPicarazzi (@DavidPicarazzi) on CodePen

Welcome to the forums, @DavidPicarazzi! I have a few questions for you:

1. Do you just want that circle to move along the <path> and have the stroke revealed accordingly, all in one fell swoop? Or do you need to be able to go from one anchor to the next anchor on the path, with very specific durations/eases (and be able to stop at a certain anchor)? 
  2. Right now, you're plotting each coordinate out and having a separate tween for each, and there's an ease between each of them (not smooth) - is that how you want it to look? Since each segment is a different length but you're using duration: 0.5 for them all, it means the velocity won't be consistent. Is that okay? 
  3. Have you seen the new MotionPathPlugin? 
  • Like 1

Hi Jack! Yes I'd like it all in one shot. As I am new to GSAP I'm pretty sure I went about the animation wrong. Ideally I'd want it all in one shot verses having separate tweens. Is there a way to go about this? And yes I'd like to have the stroke pretty much follow the circle in sync but i'd want the stroke to draw itself out like you can see here if you scroll down abit. I have not checked out the MotionPathPlugin.

Hey David.

This is quite simple with our MotionPathPlugin and DrawSVGPlugins! Take a look:

See the Pen rNaRwpz?editors=0010 by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen