Search Community

SVG elements translation origin

ideagonal test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello, I've started to learn gsap in order to animate SVGs. I'm stuck trying to translate an element relative to itself. I've uploaded to Gifs as examples, "test_hype.gif" shows what I want (using tumult hype, I'm a graphic designer) and "test_gsap.gif" shows what I've managed to get using gsap so far. As it seems "translationOrigin: "50% 50%" affects rotation but not translation, where always takes the surrounding SVG coords as reference.

The code I'm using is:

var circle = $("#circle"),
	clase1 = $(".clase-1"),
	clase2 = $(".clase-2"),
	clase3 = $(".clase-3"); 

TweenLite.from(clase1, 2, {y:0});
TweenLite.from(clase2, 2, {y:0});
TweenLite.from(clase3, 2, {y:0, transformOrigin: "50% 50%"});
TweenLite.to(circle, 1, {rotation: 180, transformOrigin: "50% 50%"});

As you can see "clase3" starts to move from the same y coord than the others.

Maybe I should dig deeper in the docs but I haven´t found so far why this is not working.

Thanks in advance, Alejandro Godoy.

test_gsap.gif

test_hype.gif

No, no, sorry for the misunderstanding. I just used Hype to show what I want to get with just GSAP and a SVG. I want to move several groups <g> inside a SVG but using its own position as a reference, e.g. its actual "y" position +50px.

Howdy, @ideagonal. Welcome to the forums. Any chance you could post your SVG? It's kinda tough to discern what's going on without seeing that. I want to see how exactly those elements are positioned originally (using transforms? attributes? Do they start all the way up at the top?) Better yet, if you could provide a reduced test case as a codepen, it'd be amazing. 

• Like 2