Search Community

scrollTrigger prevent scroll until animation finished

Colette test
Moderator Tag

Hello, 

I'm pretty new to GSAP and i'm attempting a rather complex animation.  I basically would love to stop the page from scrolling up until a certain animation is finished however its trickier than i thought.  I've tried a few things and i'd just like some advice about the best way to do this.  

Basically I'd like to stop the scroll until after the funcs 

hideSprintTitle(), 
hidePath()
and 
verticalAlignMotion()  have finished...

See the Pen VwOYqYL by Letwah (@Letwah) on CodePen

Hi @Colette welcome to the forum!

Instead of ScrollTrigger, which is build to hook an animation to the scrollbar of the vistor, check out the Observer plugin https://gsap.com/docs/v3/Plugins/Observer/ with it you can watch for scroll events and then do something 

See the Pen XWzRraJ by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

And here an example that blocks scrolling until a certain condition is met and then reinstates the scroll. 

See the Pen oNQPLqJ by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

A few notes on your setup, nothing is wrong, but the most powerful tool in GSAP is the timeline. I see you only use single tweens and then use onComplete callbacks to do something else, but if you just add all the tweens to a timeline, this will in theory do the same, but makes in my option easier to read/maintain. It also allow you to use GSDevTools to inspect your animation using this handy tool https://gsap.com/docs/v3/Plugins/GSDevTools/

Hope it helps and happy tweening! 

• Like 1

@mvaneijgen

Oh wow - that would have been a much better approach I will look into that 😬 thank you very much for your prompt reply.  Also I had no idea about that inspector plugin, thanks for that.  Back to the drawing board!

Glad it helped!

6 minutes ago, Colette said:

Back to the drawing board!