Search Community

ScrollTrigger not working in a grid

seifhadaba test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

code sandbox

I'm new to GSAP and am struggling getting a certain animation to work using scrollTrigger when my elements are in a grid layout. The animation aims to move the content horizontally as the user scrolls, and I've taken out the relevant components into this code sandbox. Apologies if there's still too much code in there, but I wanted to make sure the code is representative of the components I have in my project, in case there are nuances causing the problem. 

In App.tsx, if you uncomment all the code, you'll find a grid layout containing a 'navbar' on the left, and the main content on the right. Currently, with the grid commented out, the animation works fine, but if you include the grid, it all breaks for reasons I don't understand. I've read through the common mistakes for GSAP and scrollTrigger and don't think this is covered. 

I also have a couple of other smaller issues as well please in the ExperiencePage.tsx component: 

• toggleClass on scrollTrigger doesn't apply the .active class to components.
  • the width variable isn't being updated as the browser window is resized, despite me setting invalidateOnRefresh to true and using a function to define the end attribute in the scrollTrigger configuration.

Appreciate any help with this please. 

• Solution

Hi @seifhadaba and welcome to the GSAP Forums!

In your App.tsx file the main issue is that your layout element has a fixed height of 100vh, so when you uncomment that part there is no scroll available:

.layout {
  display: grid;
  grid-template-columns: 12rem 1fr;
  height: 100vh; /* THIS */
}

Also these styles don't seem to be helping at all:

.content {
  grid-column: 2 / span 1;
  overflow: hidden scroll;
  scroll-snap-type: y proximity;
}