Search Community

Scaling a circle with width and height set to "1" to a larger extent causes Flickering/blinking effect.

Amna A test
Moderator Tag

Hello!

Here is the CodePen link to my code:  

I am attempting to scale a circle with a width and height set to "1" to a larger extent (2000). However, I am encountering a significant flickering issue on screen resolutions of 1500 and above. The flickering occurs less frequently on a 1440 screen resolution.

Additionally, I'm facing challenges with the scaling functionality on Safari, Firefox, and Edge. On Safari, the circle scales into a square, and on Firefox and Edge, the entire SVG disappears.

The idea is to scale the circle on the scroll so that it can fill the whole screen.

I am new to GSAP, and I know it must be a simple mistake, but I would greatly appreciate any insights or suggestions on how to address these issues!

See the Pen gOEvQjj by aamnaa (@aamnaa) on CodePen

Hi @Amna A welcome to the forum!

How I like to think of scale is that it has a max value and a min value where 0 is the min and the max is 1. Scaling to a value of 2000 is really hard for the browser, so what will be easier is if you create the element as big as you want it to be when it is done animating and then scale it .from() 0 (GSAP is smart and if you use .from() it will animate to the initial value in this case 1 is the browsers default) 

Are you maybe trying to fill the screen witha circle?  Check out our own @Carl's tutorial which shows you how you can do this with some magic math values! Hope it helps and happy tweening! 

See the Pen YzgedWO?editors=0010 by mvaneijgen (@mvaneijgen) on CodePen

• Like 2

1 hour ago, mvaneijgen said:

Hi @Amna A welcome to the forum!