Search Community

Start animation for card but don't follow the scroll

jored test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Hello everyone,

I am a new developer on GSAP.
I use the same code as the codepen in the URL.

But I would like the animation of the card to not follow the scroll.
For example if I am 10% of the container an animation this lance then if I am 50% the same animation this lance, etc ...

I spent the afternoon on it but I block.

If a person has an idea, finally that I am sure ahah

Thank u.

See the Pen BaYGzvR by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

Hello @mvaneijgen, thank you !!

Example : 

See the Pen dywqmKG by jordan-morand (@jordan-morand) on CodePen

The code is not good I think we can be cleaner.
I think that using onupdate is not a good practice and that there is a better method for that.

Also when you go up the scroll the cardboard should leave with the animation.

Do you have idea ?

Thank you so much.

You want your animation to happen on scroll, but not tie it to the scroll bar? Than you don't want to use ScrollTrigger, that is the whole idea with ScrollTrigger. I think you're looking for the Observer plugin https://greensock.com/docs/v3/Plugins/Observer

Check the pen below. You can scroll as much as you like, but it will only go to the next animation when the previous animation is done. Is that the effect you're looking for? 

See the Pen XWzRraJ by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

All right.
There is content at the top and bottom it is a landing page. On the Pen code I put that the example of the pin block.

When I scroll the landing page I would like when the scroll is on .container. He pin on it and continuing the scroll it makes the animations. And later releases the scroll to continue the page.

Observer, can it do that?

Thank you

OK thank you but the scroll is blocked, it is not just possible with Scrolltrigger?
I prefer that scroll is not blocked.