Search Community

Object moving along a pill shape button border

soydannybrooks test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Carl,

I created a pill-shaped button (border-radius of 55px) and gave it an outline border to which I added a couple of circles to be positioned on that outline border. I've also created an animation using GSAP, so that the circles move along the outline border created for that button, I'm new to GSAP and I can't think how I could do the semicircular movement part at the moment the circles reach the side edges (where the border-radius is shown).

I would like to know if it is possible for you to help me with this part since I tried following an example I found in the forum (https://greensock.com/forums/topic/9581-circular-motion/) but I didn't really know how to apply it to my problem.

Thank you very much for any help you can give me.

See the Pen MWzNVMr by soydannybrooks (@soydannybrooks) on CodePen

• Solution

ok, this turned into an afternoon of distraction :)

After doing it first with MotionPath, I had a hunch it could be done with some math and experimentation so I came up with this

See the Pen jOQgKWX?editors=0110 by snorkltv (@snorkltv) on CodePen

The circular motion is caused by offsetting the transformOrigin.

It's pretty good. However you will always have to play with the  duration of the animations of the arcs vs the straight part as it can look bad if there is an abrupt change in speed.

Ultimately (as @mvaneijgen suggested) MotionPathPlugin is way cleaner as it:

• will only require one tween
  • speed is automatically kept consistent throughout

I think most people think of MotionPathPlugin as only good for SVG animations, however it excels at applying SVG path data to HTML objects!

In order to figure out the path for an html element I

• created a similar svg rect with rounded corners
  • converted that rect to a path with MotionPathPlugin
  • used that path to animate a div circle around my div button