Search Community

Pinned element with horizontal scroll

builotex test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by mvaneijgen,

Hello, I am new to greensock and would like to achieve following. I want to have some list of items where last item of this list gets pinned to the bottom of the page as I scroll down to this item (this is working pretty nicely if I don't have my horizontal div scroll animation added in JS). And right after this list, there should be horizontal scroll div with bunch of images. As you can see in my codepen I don't have any horizontal scroll working, but for the sake of simplicity there isn't any horizontal div working. The base structure of my horizontal div is the same as in codepen (gsap.to('.horizontalScrollDiv'). My issue can be seen on codepen, for the first page reload everything works fine until I reach last image of my horizontal div. My pinned list element then gets unpinned and never gets pinned again as it used to and sort of jumps around. Just take a look at codepen. 

See the Pen ExOrOPq by builote (@builote) on CodePen

• Solution

Hi @builotex welcome to the forum!

I've moved some things around in your pen and add some extra div and CSS to have the images be side by side and then move them in your horizontal tween. 

From the docs about pinnedContainer, I've never used this my self, so I don't know what it is you want to happen, but this isn't it I think. 

Element | String - If your ScrollTrigger's trigger/endTrigger element is INSIDEan element that gets pinned by another ScrollTrigger (pretty uncommon), that would cause the start/end positions to be thrown off by however long that pin lasts, so you can set the pinnedContainer to that parent/container element to have ScrollTrigger calculate those offsets accordingly. Again, this is very rarely needed. Important: nested pinning is not supported, so this feature is only for non-pinning ScrollTriggers (added in 3.7.0)