Search Community

Issue with pinned section

Glenda Negron test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Hi, I am a beginner with GSAP and I need some help troubleshooting issues with my code. I am trying to accomplish a seamless transition between sections where section 1 starts fading out and section 2 starts fading in, in the same place. Right now this is working, but when the ScrollTrigger ends there is a jump and the 2nd section gets reset to not be position fixed which is what I want to allow the user to keep scrolling if there is more content down the page. However, the transform property that gets applied causes the section to have white spacing at the top. What can I do to avoid the jump and the white spacing? 

Is there a better way to achieve the kind of layered feel that I am trying to get with the sections?

See the Pen XWyRzBy by Glenda-Negron (@Glenda-Negron) on CodePen

• Solution

Hi @Glenda Negron and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

Thanks for being a Club GreenSock member and supporting GreenSock!

I think the issue here is that your second ScrollTrigger instance is getting in the way. Here is a fork of your codepen without that instance:

See the Pen xxQdWBo by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

Also as you can see there is some white space there as well, that's basically the document's background becoming visible. You can give the body the same background color you're giving the other section in order to prevent that

This is not helping as well IMHO:

onUpdate: (self) => {
  // Adjust the autoAlpha of section 1 based on the scroll position
  hero.style.visibility = self.progress === 0.5 ? "hidden" : "visible";
  hero.style.zIndex = self.progress === 1 ? "-5" : "5";

// Adjust the autoAlpha of section 2 based on the scroll position
  boxIntro.style.opacity = self.progress === 0.5 ? 0 : 1;
  boxIntro.style.zIndex = self.progress === 1 ? "4" : "4";
}