Search Community

Slider where the active slide is wider

Adrian Stein test
Moderator Tag

Hi I found a pen and modified it to try and get it to do what I want but am having issues as im only new to gasp.

Basically I want the active slide to be wider than the rest and they have the same space between the slides ( like 40px). The issue is the example uses scaleX which skews the image. I want to reveal the image as the slide gets wider and the none slides to be closer together.

I know I need to animate the width and also change the x as the active gets bigger but im just not sure how.

Any help would be great

Cheers,

Adrian

See the Pen VwEZQmQ by adrian-stein (@adrian-stein) on CodePen

Hi @Adrian Stein and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

Maybe this example is closer to what you're looking for:

See the Pen wvgaLxQ by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

The one you forked is build with scaling in mind. As you can see the approaches are a bit different.

Hopefully this is enough to get you started. Let us know if you have more questions.

Happy Tweening!

Hi,

I'm a bit confused to be honest. You mention that you already know that example, that you know you have to animate the width property of each image, then: Why are you using scale in your original example? The second example does exactly what you're after, right? If it doesn't then it would be very helpful to know exactly what you're trying to achieve.

One way to avoid the images to skew is to animate their scale in the opposite direction as their parent element. So if the parent element scale is down to 0.2 the scale of the image should be 1/0.2, which is 5.

If you can clarify this points it'd be very helpful.

Happy Tweening!

Hey,