Search Community

Enabling animation (with scroll trigger) only after current one finishes

Trynix test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by OSUblake,

Hi everyone,

I just started learning GSAP few days ago, and I'm really loving what it has to offer, but keep coming across small challenges so please bear with me :)

I tried creating a simple codepen example attached (doesn't capture full complexity, but hopefully does the job). 

Basically I'll be running an animation somewhere, and only after that animation runs, another animation is setup with scrolltrigger intact. Idea is that if a person scrolls too fast then the 2nd animation (and associated scroll trigger) will not play until first animation is done. I use onComplete and a function to create the 2nd animation.

Issue I have is that the 2nd animation includes animating from autoAlpha 0, and because the animation only sets up after onComplete of the first one, then the elements of that 2nd animation are visible at the start until the onComplete function triggers and the 2nd animation is setup. I also tried setting elements of the 2nd animation to visibility hidden in CSS, but because i use splittext on the 2nd animation, the parent element stays hidden and the whole thing messes up.

Would appreciate thoughts on ideal approach to handle this, and if the approach is correct then how do I deal with the elements being visible before animation is setup please.

I also have few followup questions (independent of each other) that I'd greatly appreciate input on (if creating separate topic for each question is preferred, please let me know, I just didn't want to spam the forum when they are small questions):

- In general, is there a reason to use opacity over autoAlpha at any point, or should I just default to using autoAlpha?