Search Community

scrollTrigger : Applying an animation forEach : stagger not working

charlesb test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by ZachSaucier,

Hello everyone 😄

I'm new to GSAP and to JS. I've been trying to solve this by myself but I'm unable to do it.

Thanks in advance for your help and your knowledge.

• I have 3 sections with the same elements : 2 lines and one box
  • A scrollTrigger plays a timeline where elements are animated
  • The 1st line (black) width must go to 300px
  • Then the 2nd (green) width must go to 300px
  • Then the blue box goes right and rotates

It kind of work but I don't seem to make the stagger work : only on line is animating.

Is it related to the way I use querySelector for the .line class ? It looks like only the first line of each section is selected.

Note : I'm reading the "common mistakes" article and also looking at example with the use of forEach. Maybe it's better to use event listeners ? The logic would be to play the timeline onEnter ?

EDIT:

I played with examples I found in the forum (from Zach I think). (I got rid of the scrolling stuff to focus on the stagger).

With the Pokemon example I get the same problems. But I know the way I use the querySelector is wrong. But I don't understand. Since I use forEach, shouldn't it select all the .box related each container ? Maybe I need gsap.utils.toArray : forEach Pokemon, create and array and list all the .box

See the Pen gOMjooQ by charlesbail_ (@charlesbail_) on CodePen

See the Pen rNLrMvj by charlesbail_ (@charlesbail_) on CodePen

• charlesb changed the title to scrollTrigger : Applying an animation forEach : stagger not working
  • Solution

Hey Charles and welcome to the GreenSock forums.