Search Community

How to control animation when page is refreshed mid scroll?

'L' test
Moderator Tag

OK, this feels like it should be super simple, but for the life of me, I can't figure it out - needless to say, I'm a noob!

I have a hero section at the top of my page, onload it animates in a headline and paragraph 1. 

On scroll, paragraph 1 animates out, paragraph 2 animates in (headline remains).

The animations are currently on 2 separate timelines; the 1st plays without user interaction, the 2nd is controlled using scrollTrigger. FYI I'm also using 'layered pinning from bottom' (courtesy of Greensock/Codepen - lovely, thank you!).

The problem - if the page is refreshed 'mid scroll', both paragraphs are visible.

How do I ensure only 1 paragraph is visible at a time? Callback, if/else statement, check scroll position, a master timeline controlled by scrollTrigger...witchcraft??  I feel like there's an obvious/accepted method I'm overlooking - can anyone point me in the right direction?

I haven't included a codepen, as I can't replicate the issue due to the scroll position being reset when the page is refreshed. Plus, my setup probably isn't right to begin with - hence this post...

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!

Hey L and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

1 hour ago, 'L' said:

I can't replicate the issue due to the scroll position being reset when the page is refreshed

You can still create a minimal demo that we can run locally. Or you can use CodePen's debug mode by replacing /pen/ with /debug/ in the URL. A minimal demo is necessary as it depends on how you have things set up. Please make the pen as minimal as possible (perhaps removing the layered pinning stuff if it's not relevant).

1 hour ago, 'L' said:

my setup probably isn't right to begin with - hence this post...

Hard to help with that if we can't see your setup ;)