Search Community

Multiple scrollTriggers within one timeline?!

geogeo test
Moderator Tag

Hi there,

I've created the following timeline which I want to animate each section once the user has scrolled into view.

Theres two sections  "section--design" & "section--dev" which appear after each other on the page and i'd assume the animations would run in each section depending on the scrollTrigger ... however theyre not! The animations are very patchy and seem to animate not in order and without any duration or ease. 

I'm new to this so might be completed approaching this wrong?! 

Any help much appreciated! 

const design = gsap.timeline({
    duration: 2
});

design
    // section--design
    .from('.section--design .semi-circle-right', {
        x : -485,
        ease: "power.out",
        scrollTrigger: {
            trigger: '.section--design',
            start: 'top center',
            end: 'center center',
            scrub: false,
            markers: true,
        }
    })
    .from('.section--design .wp-block-column h2, .section--design .wp-block-column p', {
        opacity : 0,
        delay: 1,
        y: 40,
        stagger: 1,
    })
    // section--dev
    .from('.section--dev .semi-circle-left', {
        x : 485,
            trigger: '.section--dev',
            // markers: true,
        }
    })
    .from('.section--dev .wp-block-column h2, .section--dev .wp-block-column p', {
    });

Hey geogeo and welcome to the GreenSock forums. 

You're making one of the most common ScrollTrigger mistakes: putting ScrollTriggers on tweens within a timeline. Doing so doesn't make much sense because both the timeline and ScrollTrigger will try to control the progress of the tween. The article I linked to talks about other potential solutions. If you're still having issues, please make a minimal demo of your situation as the following thread talks about and we'll do our best to help :) 

Happy tweening. 

Hi,