Search Community

Little help for the newbie

BigZane test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello all,

I am new in this advance website things and looking for help on my project. I found this site here in awwwards which is amazing to me and I wanna do something similar. There are several things that I found really hard to understand in that website. The first is how they make the drag-able navigation. The second is how to establish multiple contents in one single html page. And the last is how to create the animated background when we scroll the page. 

I tried to look at the code in the developer mode and I found that they are using <canvas> tag to draw the animation. But I don't really know how they do it. Can I create something similar with GSAP ? Is there any tutorial that I can follow ?

Thank you,

BigZane

Hello BigZane,

Welcome to the forums!

Well, that's pretty big project to emulate. My first recommendation would be to take it in steps (although it sounds like you are already trying to cut it into more manageable tasks) rather than trying to replicate everything that you are seeing.

That site that you are linking is using GSAP, although I did not spot where the call to the CDN is, or if they are using a CDN or not. I didn't dig into the code. I can tell you that because I have a little browser extension that sniffs out GSAP for me.

So, yes, you can create something like that.

For the scrolling, you could create a custom handler but the best option, since you're looking to use GSAP anyway, would be to use Draggable and trigger whatever animation you're thinking of when the .onDrag() event fires or upon reaching the bounds of your dragging area.