Search Community

Getting the jank outta my first shot at this

Brett test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hey everyone! I'm new to this platform and so far I love everything about it except my ability to get the FPS where I want it, especially on mobile of course. But the structure of everything, the plugins, the syntax - everything seems pretty awesome. It feels really natural after using jQuery so many years. 

I'm hoping that giving you the actual web page I'm learning on instead of a codepen will be ok. I believe at least part of my problem is the CSS of the page itself and this is the exact context I'm trying to use GSAP. If I can get the FPS up where it needs to be I'll put it into production. 

I've spent a few days fumbling around and now I'm confident you guys can find a number of quick fixes that would take me hours or days to iron out. 

Here's the page:

http://dev.truckingtruth.com/cdl-test/category-rules-and-regulations/page-1/

The animations themselves are doing exactly what I expect them to do. I'm just not sure what the best way is to get better FPS. I was using SplitText on the quiz questions themselves and it looked great but I took it out to get the FPS up. I'd love to put that back in. 

If you want me to setup a Codepen I certainly can. I just wanted you guys to see it live on our test server so you knew the full picture of what I was working with. 

Thanks a ton! 

Hello Brett, and Welcome to the GreenSock forum!