Search Community

Combines ScrollTrigger Horizontal and Vertical Scroll Snap

goyounj test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Hi, I'm new to GSAP and am exploring some basics especially for Scroll Trigger. I want to try implementing one of the examples of full page scroll trigger, scroll snap vertically and horizontally. I have an overview of the flow of moving sections based on scroll as shown below:

image.thumb.png.c50148d498af5bb0f620868d170d01fd.png

From section A to section D1, the vertical scroll snap has been successful. Then from section D1 to section D4 with a horizontal scroll snap has also been successful. But there is a problem when I add a code to scroll snap vertically from section D4 to section E.

There is a kind of delay when moving sections to D1-D4 (when I scroll once, it doesn't immediately move to the full section, but displays half of the section first, then displays the full section). Then when I scroll up from section E to section D4, the screen displays the sections between sections D3 and D4.

There seems to be a mistake when I write the value for the snap property, but I haven't found a solution yet. Any ideas to try something?

Also any feedback to improve my GSAP code would be perfect.

Thanks!

See the Pen YzRaYWE by Enragest-21 (@Enragest-21) on CodePen

• Solution

Hi @goyounj and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

There are a few issues in your setup, mostly in your final ScrollTrigger instance.

gsap.timeline({
  scrollTrigger: {
    trigger: ".lastHorizontalSection",
    start: "right right",
    endTrigger: ".divE",
    end: "bottom bottom",
    snap: 0.1,
  }
});

First your start point. Horizontal start/end points are only available with Container Animation, not in the regular vertical setup, like the one you have in place:

https://greensock.com/3-8#containerAnimation